The university was established in August 1982 by Act of the State Legislature. It was inaugurated by the President of India. The Founder & First Vice Chancellor of the University was Prof. G. Ram Reddy. The University was renamed as "Dr. B. R. Ambedkar Open University" on 24 October 1991 after the Architect of the Indian Constitution Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar on the occasion of his birth centenary. The principal aim of the University is to provide an opportunity to those who are not in a position to avail themselves of the facilities for higher education through regular on-campus study at conventional colleges/universities. It adopts a flexible approach to eligibility, age of entry,choice of courses, method of learning, conduct of exams and operation of educational programmes.The Univ makes use of a variety of learning media including Radio, TV,film, audio cassette and the printed study material, besides arranging contact and counselling programmes and Sc 'Practicals' which makes for the traditional teacher-student interaction. The University functions through anetwork of 117 Study Centres located in the twin-cities of Hyderabad and Secunderabad and all the districts of the State. The Study Centres are located in selected colleges throughout the State from which they drawtheir counselling staff who are experienced members of their teachingstaff. The students receive guidance and counselling from the Counsellors at the Study Centres. The BSc students are expected to complete 30practicals in each subject at the Study Centre. Students Enrollment (1999–2000) 63,046 (men 43,276, women 19,770).